## WATERSHED DEVELOPMENT FUND (WDF)

#### INTRODUCTION

The Union Government has established a Watershed Development Fund (WDF) during 2000 with a total corpus of Rs. 200 crore which includes Rs. 100 crore by Department of Agriculture and Rs. 100 crore by NABARD as a matching contribution. The total corpus lies with NABARD.

#### **OBJECTIVE OF WDF**

The objective of the fund is to spread the message of Participatory Watershed Development involving Watershed Community, State Government Departments, Banks, Agricultural Research Institutions and NGOs.

#### FINANCING PATTERN

The financing pattern of WDF is 50% grant and 50% loan. WDF fund is being utilized on 100% grant basis for the watershed activities in the 31 distressed districts under the PM's Package.

#### COVERAGE OF THE STATES

Presently, 13 States namely, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and West Bengal are being covered under WDF. 4 States namely, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Maharashtra are covered under PM's Package in so far as distressed districts are concerned.

#### PROGRESS OF WDF

Since inception till the end of March, 2010 an amount of Rs.190.09 crore consisting of Rs.56.99 crore in the watersheds selected in Non Distressed Districts of 13 States and Rs.137.24 crore in the watersheds selected in 31 Distressed Districts in 4 States under PM's Package has been utilized. The list of districts covered under PM's package is given at Annexure-I. The target is to cover 9.30 lakh ha area under watershed development through WDF in these distressed districts.

### ANNEXURE-I

# List of Identified Districts

Andhra Pradesh	Karnataka	Kerala	Maharashtra
01. Prakasam	1. Belgaum	1.Wayanad	1.Akola
02.Guntur	2. Hassan	2.Palakkad	2.Wardha
03. Nellore	3. Chitradurga	3.Kasaragod	3.Amravati
04. Chittoor	4. Chikmaglur		4.Buldhana
05.Cuddapah	5. Kodagu		5.Wasim
06. Ananthapur	6. Shimoga		6.Yavatmal
07.Kurnool			
08. Adilabad			
09. Karimnagar			
10. Khammam			
11.Mahbubnagar			
12. Medak			
13. Nalgonda			
14. Nizamabad			
15. Rangareddy			
16. Warangal			